Text Size

Normal SizeLarge Size

Peoples Bank Scholar Program

Peoples Bank of Kankakee County and the Hammes Family have established a Scholar Program of financial aid for deserving graduates of designated Kankakee area high schools who have been admitted to:

  • Olivet Nazarene University, Bourbonnais, IL
  • Kankakee Community College, Kankakee, IL
  • University of Notre Dame, South Bend, IN

The award amount:

  • ONU: $1,000 each academic year; two-year maximum
  • KCC: $1,500 each academic year; two-year maximum

Renewal for second year depends on College/University and Bank acceptance.

Scholarships are made available on a competitive basis to qualified high school graduates in need of financial assistance.

The Peoples Bank Scholar Program was established in 1996, and has awarded a total of $918,911 to over 248 students at various colleges and universities. The continuance of the Peoples Bank Scholar Program is determined by the donor on an annual basis.


Eligible applicants include any high school senior who is scheduled to successfully graduate from:

  • Bishop McNamara High School
  • Bradley-Bourbonnais Community High School
  • Grace Baptist Academy
  • Grant Park High School
  • Herscher High School
  • Kankakee High School
  • Kankakee Trinity Academy
  • Manteno High School
  • Momence High School
  • St. Anne High School

No separate application is required to be considered for the Scholar Program award. Interested students may apply in their high school senior year by indicating on the standard application for admission to ONU, KCC or the University of Notre Dame, and their application for financial aid, that they wish to be considered for the Peoples Bank of Kankakee County Scholar Program.

Recipients are expected to accept the college/universities' loan and work programs, and must attend an annual recognition event.

For more information on the Peoples Bank of Kankakee County Scholar Program, please contact any of the Financial Aid Offices at ONU and the University of Notre Dame or the KCC Foundation office.